Best DIY kit to convert for Large Format Foam 3D? How to ad 4th axis? 8k-10k?

Thread: Best DIY kit to convert for Large Format Foam 3D? How to ad 4th axis? 8k-10k?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Best DIY kit to convert for Large Format Foam 3D? How to ad 4th axis? 8k-10k?

Hello!

I am super new to the game. I am here because I want to make 3D foam carvings on a pretty grand scale. I am no machinist or engineer (I took one semester of mechatronics) I am a 3D artist/sculptor. That being said, I would like to build a machine that has similar functionality as this one:
    FROG3D | FROGMILL?

I understand that that is a 80k dollar device, so my expectations are adjusted accordingly. It seems to me that I could assemble the "long Z" GreenBull from buildyourcnc.com and add a 4th axis. However, this machine does not have support for the 4th axis (I called them). Which made me wonder, how does one add a 4th axis to an existing machine in a way that the software will recognize? Can I devise my own mounting bracket for an "A" position 4th axis (I would go C position, but it seems even more difficult) and then tell the software where it is? Do I have to know how to code a custom profile for a set up like this?

Further, when adding an "A" position (lathe) 4th axis do I need some fancy plate interface/harmonic drive situation so that I can attach my foam securely?

Are there Kits/software better suited for what I am trying to do?

Any help would be great. Thank you.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Best DIY kit to convert for Large Format Foam 3D? How to ad 4th axis? 8k-10k?

First,forget about buildyourcnc. For nearly the same price, you can get a machine from cncrouterparts that's 10x better.
    For $8-$10K, you can build a machine that's close to the Frogmill. IF you can do some metal fabrication, and spend a LOT of time doing research. But the research should be mandatory, if you don't want to throw money away.

Downloads
    Uploads