Want to build CNC Router for routing 3/4" MDF and solid wood

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Want to build CNC Router for routing 3/4" MDF and solid wood

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Want to build CNC Router for routing 3/4" MDF and solid wood

I'd love to build a CNC router for cutting out recesses and holes in 3/4" MDF and 3/4" solid hardwoods. I can't afford to spend thousands on a commercial machine for a hobby. I've looked at several of the popular designs but the affordable ones seems to be far too delicate for such work. Most are for balsa wood and circuit boards etc... Is there a DIY design that might meet my needs?

Thanks.

Darren

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

How much you want to spend?

Eric

I wish it wouldn't crash.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Well, I was hoping to accomplish something with $500 or so for everything. I have a computer and router. I'm a woodworker hobbiest with a full woodshop so a design that utilizes MDF or similar substrate would be great.

I realize this is a tall order for little $$ but I thought I'd give it a shot. I'd be using the router for smaller projects about 12"w X 24"L.

Am I outta luck?

Darren

Downloads
    Uploads

No.

The small size helps because you can build it from MDF and it will still be plenty rigid to do what you want. My first machine was exactly that size, made from MDF and I used it to cut MDF, hardwood, and aluminum.

I have some plans for my first router in DXF format. I will dig them up tonight and post here.

Eric

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

That would be wonderful. I don't have any software yet, can you recommend some? I'm a newbie when it comes to CNC but a quick study. I've used some very basic CAD systems like Graphicad and Casmate for plotters.

Darren

Downloads
    Uploads

you can download Turbocad for free here: http://nct.digitalriver.com/fulfill/0002.16