Dual X Axis

Thread: Dual X Axis

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Question Dual X Axis

Hello,

I'm a newbie to all this CNC stuff, im a software engineer working in the operational research field.

Im still in the designing process and i have a some questions

I didnt saw many DUAL Motor on the longer axis (either using 2 acme rod or ballscrew) WHY?

I saw many design using R&P, but not many dual driven.

I aim for 60" on my longer axis using rolled 2505 ballscrew from china.

Except for the cost issue, my understanding is that 2 ballscrew will never be the same and some adjustment will be needed ? Its not as easy as slaving a motor in Mach3 ?

Thanks a lot,

Lou

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by skaos View Post
    Hello,

I'm a newbie to all this CNC stuff, im a software engineer working in the operational research field.

Im still in the designing process and i have a some questions

I didnt saw many DUAL Motor on the longer axis (either using 2 acme rod or ballscrew) WHY?

I saw many design using R&P, but not many dual driven.

I aim for 60" on my longer axis using rolled 2505 ballscrew from china.

Except for the cost issue, my understanding is that 2 ballscrew will never be the same and some adjustment will be needed ? Its not as easy as slaving a motor in Mach3 ?

Thanks a lot,

Lou
    Rack and pinion only became widely available to the CNC hobby market back in late 2008-early 2009 and was introduced by cncrouterparts.com. These have become very popular for 48" and longer X axis machines since then. I use one on my gantry Y axis, and two on my X axis (X and A) in slaved mode. My machine is 12 feet long.