Linear Motion FAQ

Thread: Linear Motion FAQ

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Exclamation Linear Motion FAQ

I decided to put this together because the more I read about all the different types of linear motion (rack and pinion, ball/lead screws, belts and pulleys, linear actuators etc.) the more I get confused.

I want to start with Rack and Pinion because this is the method I will probably use. Once these questions are answered I'll move into ball and lead screws.

My method: I have no experience at this so all opinions herein are pulled from other people's postings. More than likely as the FAQ grows you will find that one person is getting more attention than another that's because their methods and experience seems to be more popular. I wish to add that everyone's experience will be added so that any reader of this FAQ will feel as though they just earned a minor degree in Linear Motion.

I have posted the following questions on rack and pinion to start, however if you wish to post answers to similar questions that have to do with other linear motion methods feel free.

Updated 6/2/2005-I've incorporated responses to this

1. What is a gear’s pitch?

A gear's pitch is its number of teeth divided by its pitch diameter. For example, a gear with 16 teeth and a pitch diameter of 1/2" will have a pitch of 32.

2. What is teeth per inch?

To obtain the teeth/inch you need to know the circular pitch which is the distance from the centre of one tooth to the next at the pitch line, here is a link that gives you all the formulae http://www.linngear.com/faq/techspecs/tech_specs.pdf

3. What is pressure angle?

20deg PA is generally used for its higher load carrying capacity, but 14 1/2deg PA lower angle results in lower backlash (if any) and higher contact ratio which results in quieter and smoother operation.
    Most commercial tables use 20d PA.

4. How do I get the length rack I need?