New Machine Build My Summer Project (CNC Mill)

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: My Summer Project (CNC Mill)

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default My Summer Project (CNC Mill)

I've been lurking for a little while, and gathered a lot of inspiration for a small CNC Mill I've wanted to build for a while. I always backed down from building it because I wasn't sure of the results, if it would work, and how much money I would spend before I would know if it would work. Seeing a lot of the machines on these forums, as well as one made out of pipe and aluminum U-channels, I decided to take the leap.

Just by way of background, my degree is computer engineering, so my focus might be a little more on the drivers, interfacing, and software, but I'm having a lot of fun designing and building the machine.

My requirements aren't all that great right now (the biggest requirement is the learning involved). So, I really just want something that will make decent PCBs. If everything works out really well, I may be building a second, larger-scale machine with greater attention to precision and range of material.

I've attached one of the more recent renders of my mechanical design. The design is an exercise in keeping costs down while making it easy to build. I have access to a fairly complete machine shop, and a lot of the parts are designed around scrap that's freely available to me. One of the things that might be somewhat unique about my design is my linear guides (ways). I got the idea from an old printer. Each axis is supported by four bearings (made out of PTFE) that runs along two drill rods. This gives me a really simple bearing cross-section that I can reproduce with normal bits on a mill.

I'm also making my own anti-backlash nuts (I have some free blocks of PTFE) and motor couplings; mostly because I'm cheap, and I like having an excuse to work in my friend's machine shop.