Noob Looking for General Info on Stamping Press Machinery

Thread: Noob Looking for General Info on Stamping Press Machinery

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Noob Looking for General Info on Stamping Press Machinery

I'm a machinist and metal fabricator, but I'm not at all familiar with metal stamping or punching. I want to punch/press (whatever the correct terminology is) quite a lot of spoon shaped items. I only need them to be punched out of Stainless Steel sheet and they will be flat. The Stainless will be 18 or 19 gauge (.04" thick).

I guess first question is what machine can I use that's not expensive and easy to use. Is it something like a Federal 22 ton or larger Punch Press work, is that what they are used for?

Next would be how to calculate how much tonnage I'll need to punch out the shape I want.

Then I guess where I can read about making dies or where to have dies made? I have the ability to make and heat treat dies, just not the tolerances or shearing edges and so forth.

Any help would be appreciated.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Noob Looking for General Info on Stamping Press Machinery

Punch press is the correct term for the machine.

A 22 ton might work or a 100 ton might not be enough It depends on the area and tensile strength of the part that you are making.

Yes, that's what they are used for. Punching (creating a hole), Blanking (punching out the entire part shape), and Forming/Bending. The dies can be a single operation or could be a progressive die where multiple operations are performed as the material progresses through the die.

Rough tonnage (in pounds) can be calculated by multiplying the tensile strength x the area x the thickness.