Need Help! Help/Advice for Compression Die Design

Thread: Help/Advice for Compression Die Design

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Help/Advice for Compression Die Design

I would appreciate some feedback on a compression die design that I am leading. My background is electrical engineering and I have never designed a die before. This is in an academic environment so there is little practical experience with this sort of thing. I have met with a tool and die maker but I still have a number of design questions that I am unsure about.

The intent of the die is to compress copper coils in prototype quantities (~20 units produced) under fairly high loads, ~300 to 400 tons. I am trying to design something that will work the first time because I don’t really have budget to make a second but it doesn’t need to be overly fancy since it is only for making very limited quantities.

The final compressed dimensions of the coil are ~5.23” x 2.26” x 1.09” with the compression surface being 4.84 in^2. The pressure on coil will be 61 kPSI - 165 kPSI.

https://imgur.com/a/mXvEc

1) The design current uses a yoke, die, bobbin, and punch. The compressed coil is formed in the cavity created by the die, bobbin, and punch. The yoke surrounds the die to add strength as there are concerns that the die might crack given the pressures and forces. There is a taper on the outer die perimeter and the yoke inner perimeter for the yoke to contain the die as the coil tries to force it outward.

• Does it make sense to use a yoke? Would the yoke be better replaced with just a larger die?

• In the current design the die and the yoke are each ~1.5" thick. It might make sense to make the yoke thicker and the die thinner. The taper from top to bottom on the yoke inner surface is 5 Degrees. Does this make sense?