Newbie Die cutting up to 1/4" aluminum: worth it to set up my own device?

Thread: Die cutting up to 1/4" aluminum: worth it to set up my own device?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Die cutting up to 1/4" aluminum: worth it to set up my own device?

Greetings!

I am an artist currently making chandeliers. I have this vision to weld together aluminum pieces to make large chandeliers. I have been dealing (or trying to deal) with Chinese manufacturers to have the pieces fabricated there and shipped to USA for me to assemble. There are about a thousand problems in these interactions, most deal with metal types, thicknesses, and metal qualities.

It seems the best I can do is getting the items made in ZINC which is a terrible metal to weld mostly because I don't want to get cancer.

New thought: buy a die press and make them all myself!

Have a die made and I can hand-create each shape and have total control over my metals as well as a possibility to make endless shapes for very little continuing costs. Not only that, I don't have to deal with foreign language barriers, sub-standard product, shipping, customs, and all the waiting for my packages.

Can you guys let me know if this is a viable idea?

• I will be die-cutting aluminum from sheets up to 0.25 inches thick but no thicker than that
    • I will be using 6061 T4 or T6 grade aluminum
    • Each cut piece will not be larger than about 4 inches square

I understand that many of these machines are kinda slow so it might take all day on the die cutting, but it would give me so much flexibility.

The Questions

1. Which machine is a good starter press for a metal die-cutting noob?
    2. Any businesses you would recommend to create the dies?
    3. Can I cut through aluminum that thick with a manual press?

Thank you guys so much for your help! I like the idea of not outsourcing the pieces so I can say I made the whole thing.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads