die/punch alignment for kickpress and thin material

Thread: die/punch alignment for kickpress and thin material

Downloads
    Uploads

Default die/punch alignment for kickpress and thin material

I have a Whitney 5 ton kickpress and need to punch 3/8" holes in 0.040 thick aluminum that is preformed into an 8" deep channel about 8" wide (holes in the bottom). I was hoping the gibs of the press (which are well adjusted and tight) would provide the alignment needed. But the flex of the press frame seems to allow the bottom platform to move down slightly (about 0.005") relative to the ram and in moving to move down slightly more on the front than the back. This causes the pedestal that fits into the upside down channel to spring forward about 0.010" - much more than the clearance of the die. I have very little experience with this sort of thing. I am thinking a die set is needed but it would need to be a fairly large one.

Currently drilling with a step drill but it produces a large, difficult to remove burr on the back side and is slow.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: die/punch alignment for kickpress and thin material

Yes....you are right....you need a die set to ensure the top tool aligns with the bottom tool or you'll "nip" the sides of the bottom die and destroy it.

A die set can be made simply by having a steel bottom plate with two or four pillars sliding in 2 or 4 bushes in a top steel plate.......if you have a mill and tool making experience or knowledge.
    Ian.

Downloads
    Uploads