Puma 2000SY Turret cover removal

Thread: Puma 2000SY Turret cover removal

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Puma 2000SY Turret cover removal

I am new to a shop with a well used Puma 2000SY. One of the issues is the driven tool mechanics making a lot of noise.

I am new to Doosan machines and wanted to ask a question before diving in. My plan is to remove the turret cover so I can inspect (and possibly remove) the tool drive. I don't have the service manual, just the parts manual. When I took the screws out - the cover plate does not want to come off. My best guess is that it is stuck and just needs a convincing hand - but I don't want to damage anything. The parts manual does not show anything out of the ordinary. Perhaps the O-rings are stuck?

Any advice is appreciated.

Puma 2000SY Turret cover removal-2000sy_turret-jpg

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Puma 2000SY Turret cover removal

Is the noise there when you have no driven tool on station ?
    Is the noise on other driven tools ?
    ... also test by running in reverse

Sometimes the bearings/gears in driven tools stuff up.... they are usually the 1st to go.

Downloads
    Uploads

What is the Serial Number?
    What is the Part Number of the Parts book you are using? (An alphanumeric code on the corner of the cover that has the letters PLE or PCOM in the middle of the code.)

No longer with Doosan Machine Tools America
    darrylhardt@gmail.com

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

The internal drive sounds good when running free. Each of the driven tools sound and feel good when externally driven. When one is engaged on the turret, it makes a clacking sound and there is quite a bit of free backlash which I believe is in the coupling. Visually it looks like the drive shaft dogs are worn/damaged, but it is hard to tell for sure just visually looking down the bore with a flashlight. It will likely be more obvious if I am able to pull the cover for a closer inspection.