HELP TO GCODE

Thread: HELP TO GCODE

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default HELP TO GCODE

I am very new to CNC machining and I am having some trouble with fonts and how to gcode fonts. I purchased my machine from a private seller and they will not communicate at all when it comes to questions on operating. The information he has given us is that we need a program such as Turbocad to draw our product, then a program like Cut2d to code everything. My CNC router runs off of Mach3 and at this point I am extremely confused. We hired someone who teaches CNC machining, but they are telling me I need so many other things and also takes entirely too long to code and cut product. LONG STORY SHORT: Can someone please tell me the easiest way to code our lettering that I currently have as a jpeg and give me any info that will help in this situation. I need a full step-by-step of how to turn an image into a gcode because I have no idea where to begin. If there is even someone willing to code items for us and email them back to me in the same day (to work with Mach3) that would be great. I am just frustrated because we are unable to use the machine and we are still cutting everything by jig saw...

Thanks in advance!

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: HELP TO GCODE

Here is a link to tutorial for Cut2d Take a look and see if these help.
    Cut2D

Long story short, take a look at Vcarve Pro(not so pricey) or Aspire(pricey)

Mike

Downloads
    Uploads

Step one, you need a program to trace the lettering. Coreldraw will work, the free inkscape might work (a quick google of "inkscape+tracing" says it should...the jpg must be converted to black and white first and inkscape may or may not do that (corel can)

Step 2, you need to take the vector graphic results of the trace (scalable line drawing) and save as a format good for cut2d....save as a DXF for example (may not be the best file but probably best one to start with.