Build Thread Codesys CNC Controller

Thread: Codesys CNC Controller

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Codesys CNC Controller

Hello all,

I have been developing over the past year a CNC controller based on the Codesys platform/PLC Open standard. I have several years of experience in the industrial automation field as an electrical designer and PLC/robot programmer.

I have put together a BOM, below, of the components to build a panel to control a 3 axis system. No additional PC would be required, just a monitor and a mouse to visualize and control the interface.

Item Qty
    Panel 24x24X8” x1
    Power Supply 24VDC@10A x1
    Safety E-Stop Relay x1
    1 Pole Circuit Breaker x5
    Industrial Rasperry Pi w/ Codesys x1
    Terminals x30
    12VDC Battery x1
    Power Supply 48VDC@10A x3
    Ethernet Switch x1
    E-stop button x1
    Ducts 2m x1
    RJ45/HDMI/USB panel connection x1
    Rotary disconnect x1
    24VDC electronic cicuit breaker 8 channel x1
    Power contactor x2
    E/IP Bus coupler x1
    8DI/DO module x1
    Panel Motor connectors x3

The total cost of the items above is around US$2800. No motors included. I have designed the system to control drives primarily over a Fieldbus, e.g. Ethernet/IP, Profinet, Ethercat. Several options are available and in my opinion, an affordable solution are the Applied Motion StepServo integrated motors with Ethernet/IP built-in:

https://www.applied-motion.com/produ..._value%5B%5D=0

I have no interest in promoting the motors above. I just think they are a good and affordable option. However, any servo drive/or integrated motor with Fieldbus would work with no issue. If the preference is to use a stepper controller that takes step and direction signals only, then additional modules would have to be added to the Bus coupler rack. Each one costs around $250 and can control 1 axis. The system can accommodate up to 5 axis, with an upgrade of the power supply depending on the motor sizes.