PoKeys? any good? Rebuilding my machine electronics from scratch.

Thread: PoKeys? any good? Rebuilding my machine electronics from scratch.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default PoKeys? any good? Rebuilding my machine electronics from scratch.

I have been on here several times trying to get my Shopmaster conversion that was put together by a friend to work correctly. I have gone through several things and never gotten a reliable machine.

It has been running LinuxCNC and I know nothing about Linux so troubleshooting has been difficult.

I want to go to a Windows based system, probably Mach unless there is a better choice I havent found. The guy i talked to at CNC4PC is recommending a PoKeys57 and M16 board to run the system, but when asked other questions I dont get real answers. Im still learning what all these parts do, and these are pricey parts, i dont want to waste more money.

My machine is a Lathe and Mill, I want to add an encoder and turn threads eventually, I have a Mist coolant fogger, home limits, E-stop, Want to add a stepper to raise the "gantry" in the future. Running Gecko drivers right now to 3 steppers.

Are the PoKeys system the way to go? Is the M16 and PoKeys57 board the best way to go? Researching i found a PoKeys57cnc that seems to be all in one, is he not recommending it only because they dont have it, or is it limited somehow?

Thanks for any help/advice

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: PoKeys? any good? Rebuilding my machine electronics from scratch.

I'm using pokeys 57E an M16 on my lathe. The M16 is a beautiful card. It has everything a lathe needs. Works perfectly with the 57E.

I also use a 3 channel encoder for threading and CSS.

Sent from my MI 5s Plus using Tapatalk

Suat
    Proud father, C# developer, Model heli pilot, newbie free time machinist for hobby

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by Azalin View Post