Need Help! securing a spoilboard

Thread: securing a spoilboard

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default securing a spoilboard

I apologize if this has been covered on here before or if it seems like a stupid question but: We have a Precix 9100 router with a t-slot table that has a hard black plastic top on it, with holes that allow the vacuum to draw thru a spoilboard. There is no grid to distribute the vacuum, precix instead relies on using many small holes to do the job. I've been using this router for over two years now and consider myself pretty well versed, however there's on thing we've never really gotten to work properly: the vacuum table. I understand the concept of skinning a piece of MDF or LDF to allow a vacuum to be drawn to hold parts down. We have tried doing this but met with an issue; how to properly secure the spoilboard to the table. On a shopbot, you can simply glue or screw it to the plenum piece, but with the t-slot table, we don't have that option. My question is simple: how does one properly secure the spoilboard to a table with a permanent plenum surface? Any helpful ideas would be HUGELY appreciated, since we are starting a giant job cutting some furniture grade mahogany plywood this weekend. Thanks in advance.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

My friends Thermwood router has nothing holding the spoil board down outher than the vacuum.Skinning the MDF is to make the surface parallel to the gantry.One trick is to use a 1/8" spoil board on top of the 3/4" MDF.Again the vacuum holds it down.Sorry I do not understand why the spoil board has to be fastened?

L GALILEO THE EPOXY SURFACE PLATE IS FLAT

Downloads
    Uploads

Podzilla I re read your thread.Are you saying the vacuum will not pull the spoil board down?If so even if fastened down it will surley not hold down parts.With small holes your hold down pressure will be minimal.To hold down a 4X8 through an MDF spoil board you need a 20HP vacuum pump.Larry

Registered