Need Help! Is this part feasible with only a vacuum hold-down?

Thread: Is this part feasible with only a vacuum hold-down?

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Is this part feasible with only a vacuum hold-down?

I need to make multiples en-masse of this part. I'm a machinist with plenty of CNC experience but little CNC router experience.

It is 1/8" MDF.

I'm looking at a ShopSabre router with a vacuum hold-down.

I think that the part likely won't hold down solely with a vacuum table no matter what. Can anyone confirm this? Or can this part be made with a vacuum hold-down if I take light passes with little depth of cut?

If a vacuum hold-down will not work....

1. I believe that there is an option in some CAM software that will leave small tabs to keep the part from moving. Then I can later remove those tabs with an edge sander.

2. Adhesive tape? But this will not be conducive to mass production. I really need to make these fast with little hassle. Tape is likely out, unless there is some fast turnkey method that I'm not aware of.

3. Custom-made spoil board with gaskets to along the the edges?

4. ????

Thanks in advance.

Brian

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Is this part feasible with only a vacuum hold-down?-part-jpg  

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Is this part feasible with only a vacuum hold-down?

I'd look at a laser cutter for making those things, rather than a CNC router. A 1/16" cutter is pretty fragile, so you won't be able to cut as fast as you might like. There's the dust issue, and holding down the parts to consider (as you're doing), which isn't an insoluble problem but does add complication. You can mask off the porous spoilboard to concentrate the vacuum where it's needed, but tabs would still be a good idea if you're using the router - not needed if you're laser cutting.

If it's 1/8" MDF, what gets it up to .145" ?

[FONT=Verdana]Andrew Werby[/FONT]
    [URL="http://www.computersculpture.com/"]Website[/URL]