CNC4PC system using C76, C78, DG4S servo drives and UCCNC

Thread: CNC4PC system using C76, C78, DG4S servo drives and UCCNC

Downloads
    Uploads

Default CNC4PC system using C76, C78, DG4S servo drives and UCCNC

Hi all,

While experienced in general CNC operation this is my first build of a new controller and I need some basic questions answered. I've got most everything assembled and am now ready to get the servos moving.

So this is a beginners question.

The UCCNC axis configuration section is asking for the PINS and PORTS of my servo connections. I know which pins these are on the RJ45 connectors but don't understand that in relation to the UCCNC configuration sheet.

On my RJ45 connectors going from the servos into the DG4S drive I have the following pin outs:

1. Ground
    2. 5v+
    3. empty
    4. empty
    5. A+ signal
    6. A- signal
    7. B+ signal
    8. B- signal

This was easy to come up with........I just followed the directions.

What I don't get is how this relates to the UCCNC axis configuration page.

I believe that A= steps and B=direction. But the configuration page only asks for a STEP pin and PORT, and a DIR pin and PORT.

So seemingly the STEP pin would be either #5 (A+) or # 6 (A-).........but which? And what is the PORT number? The C76 UC300ETH control board has inputs and outputs for Ports 1 and 2 but the RJ45 axis connectors on the C78 board don't specify a port number. Then the same question of course for the DIRECTION pin and port. I can't find any reference to this in the manuals for any of these components.

I've done a lot of digging online and have a better understanding of servo operation because of it but still haven't found an explanation for this beginners level question.