4x8, steel frame, 2.2 kw spindle, clearpath, UC-300Eth build - Page 2

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: 4x8, steel frame, 2.2 kw spindle, clearpath, UC-300Eth build

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: 4x8, steel frame, 2.2 kw spindle, clearpath, UC-300Eth build

Quote Originally Posted by Teknic_Servo View Post
    Hi arogers1987,

I’m an applications engineer at Teknic and I came across your post yesterday. First of all, I’m sorry to hear about the difficulty resolving this issue. While I’ve never used a UC300Eth before, I, or one of my colleagues, may be able to help you wire the ClearPath HLFB output to it. We’re happy to help sort out ClearPath wiring issues, but we probably can’t offer much when it comes to using the UC CNC software (you can view example wiring schematics on page 49 of the ClearPath manual located here: https://www.teknic.com/files/downloa...ser_manual.pdf). In reading this forum though, there appears to be a number of friendly, knowledgeable people here that can help with the controller and software configuration.

I also wanted to mention that mactec54’s description of the HLFB output and his assertion that you can operate your ClearPath motors without wiring to the HLFB are both technically correct. That said, running without monitoring the HLFB output (i.e. not using it as an “alarm” input to your board) can lead to other problems. For example, I’ve seen cases–in an “HLFB unmonitored” machine–where one motor experienced a safety-related shutdown, and all the other motors continued the job because the system had no way of knowing about the one that shut down. This situation lead to a crash, resulting in a broken machine tool, a damaged work piece, and damaged mechanics (which were expensive and time consuming to fix).