New Machine Build Sidewinder CNC

Thread: Sidewinder CNC

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Sidewinder CNC

I’m new to all this but have been reading and learning for quite a while. I’ve got experience with Arduino, programing, some robotics, have a fully outfitted woodshop, and am a avionics tech by trade so I’m pretty confident that I can accomplish building a CNC. I’ve decided to go with Dave Gatton’s design over at www.sidewindercnc.com. Not only does it appear to be a very solid design but with Mr. Gatton’s YouTube videos, this should be a relatively easy build for my first CNC.

At this stage I’ve ordered all the parts needed, except for the lumber, and just waiting for it all to arrive. I’ve stuck with using two of the suppliers Mr. Gatton recommends. Dumpster CNC offers a kit that I couldn’t beat in price by more than a few dollars and since this is custom made for the machine I’m building, it’s what I went with. I also stuck with McMaster-Carr. The plans reference McMaster part numbers and I couldn’t find another one stop shop. Shopping around would only end in an increase in cost of these parts. The only exception to that may have been the aluminum angle, but the couple dollars saved didn’t seem worth the road trip to get it.