Gantry Router Log

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Gantry Router Log

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Gantry Router Log

Like most newbies I have been reading the forum for months and have been inspired by the many variations and materials that members are building their routers from.

I have been building for a couple of months and now have something to show for the effort. Don't ask for drawings as they are in my head and change to suit the materials I have available and the problems I encounter as I construct it. I know this is a cop out but I would rather be making chips than drawing pictures.

The biggest hurdle was the electronics as I have very little experience other than how to solder. As this was going to be the critical component for me I decided to get the Xylotex board and if I could mount it and get it going the rest should be easier.

The box I got was not big enough to house the transformer and board so I got another one and put the transformer in one and driver board in the other.

Once I was confident I had everything working I got the 269 oz motors.

Here are some photos of the finished driver board and power supply.

cheers,
    Rod

Perth, Western Australia

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Gantry Router Log-stepper-drive-internal-jpg   Gantry Router Log-stepper-drive-front-jpg   Gantry Router Log-stepper-drive-rear-jpg  

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

So the electronics, motors and cables have been completed.

I decided to make the base from steel and the gantry from aluminium. My choice for a steel base is that it adds weight and stability and because it is fixed it does not require additional motor power.