Build Thread My First Build

Thread: My First Build

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default My First Build

Hey guys!

I have introduced myself to the CNCzone community once before but I might as well do it again because it was so long ago.

My name is Sam, I live in Australia, I am in my last year of school which makes me 17 years old. I first discovered the miracle of CNC mill's about 3 years ago and since then I have wanted one more than anything. I mainly want one to make guitars and costumes. I know, pathetic use for a CNC mill right? :P But nonetheless, i have been dying to make one.

But in the last month, my dreams have came true. I discovered that my grandfather used to own a 4-axis CNC machine but has since sold his factory. So I had a talk to him about what I wanted to do, and with his expertise in CNC machining, he gladly offered to help me out.

So we got together and spent a fair amount of time both thinking about it and making it. I think that about 80% of the time was thinking and trial and error, and the rest was building what we have so far. Which is this:

I still have to finish the Z axis off and pretty much the whole construction of the machine will be done.

I'll take some more pictures later on for you guys to check out.

I also have a few questions as i'm almost at the electronics stage. I am thinking of buying these stepper motors here: Bipolar Stepper Motor FL60STH86-2008B :: Stepper :: Motors :: Ocean Controls
    I am also interested in getting the HobbyCNC Pro driver board. The only problem is that I live in Australia and I don't really want to wait about 2 or so weeks for the board to arrive. So I was wondering if there is some sort of DIY option that definitely works with Mach3 on Windows XP in conjunction with these motors.

I would really appreciate any and all feedback and answers.

Thanks heaps guys.

Sam

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Hi. Welcome to the forum (again)!