Auto Z touch plate troubles

Thread: Auto Z touch plate troubles

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Auto Z touch plate troubles

Hi guys. I am very new to all this, so please bear with me here. :-)

I am running CNC Router Parts/AVID CNC's version of Mach 4.
    I also have their Auto Z and Corner Finding Touch Plate: https://www.avidcnc.com/auto-z-and-c...fk1n1brtkbpf61

I am cutting some simple shapes in a piece of 2x6 as my first project. I designed the project in Ventric VCarve Desktop Pro.
    I set the Z zero for the surface of the material in VCarve Pro.

Next I placed the AVID touch plate on the front left corner piece of wood with the raised x and y corner edges down. (One side has these edges to fit on your wood, the other side is flat).
    And yes, I did attach the magnet to the router bit.

I ran the auto z program in Mach 4. It touched the top of the plate and stopped, then retracted. It then touched the x and y edges
    of the touch plate and stopped. Looking good.

But when I ran the g code program the bit was too high and it never touched the wood. It just air cut the shapes.
    It seemed to be too high by the thickness of the touch plate. In other words, the software seems to be seeing the top of the touch plate
    as the surface, not the actual surface of the wood below.

Do I need to measure the thickness of the touch plate and enter this value in an offset menu or something?
    Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I am so close to actually routering something for the first time!

Thank you.
    Redcedar

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

When you set things up in V-Carve, make sure you set the Z zero to the top of the material. It sounds like you may have the machine bed selected as the Z zero plane. This will result in an offset of the thickness of your material. That could be the issue.

Best regards,

Ahren

Quote Originally Posted by Redcedar View Post