AVID PRO 4x9 build newbie advice

Thread: AVID PRO 4x9 build newbie advice

Default AVID PRO 4x9 build newbie advice

After researching all kinds of suppliers and spending many hours reading forum posts, I've just put an AVID kit on order. I have decided to build my own support table from plywood and LVL beams rather than use their leg kit. I'm a retired structural engineer and believe I can build a more rigid and massive base than the aluminum offering and design it so I can store 4x8 sheet goods below the table. I'd appreciate any advice and experience anyone has to offer. I specifically wonder about the best way to attach the CNC table extrusions to my wood table base. If I don't get a rigid mount here, the mass and stiffness of the base will not be effective.

I was thinking of attaching standard aluminum angle to the extrusion with t-nuts and screwing the other leg of the angle to the plywood base as shown in the attached sketch. The length of the aluminum angle would be as long as possible (maybe 12" or so) with multiple fasteners. Obviously on the rails, I could only do this on the inside face since the drive mounts on the outside face. Any thoughts?

For general advice, I ran across a post on this forum from a few years ago titled, "PRO4896 - Things you wish you knew before you started". That was useful info. I'll summarize below. If you have additions, please post.

Thanks,
    Tom

https://www.cnczone.com/forums/cnc-r...w-started.html

• loc-tite

o Regarding loctite, while it's not a bad idea, aluminum can act as it's own lockwasher. IE there is enough compression and give to the aluminum itself (in fact the slots on the 80/20 extrusion are specifically designed to be able to be pulled towards the fastener to help lock everything together... They call this the "2 degree drop lock" ). So assuming you tighten things down well enough, I don't expect loctite to be as useful as it is in other applications.