New Machine Build CRP Pro4848 Spoil Board and V-Carve Questions, maybe even Mach 3 too!

Thread: CRP Pro4848 Spoil Board and V-Carve Questions, maybe even Mach 3 too!

Downloads
    Uploads

Default CRP Pro4848 Spoil Board and V-Carve Questions, maybe even Mach 3 too!

All,

I am totally new to this CNC Router forum. While a long time woodworker, I am on a very steep learning curve for the hardware and software aspects of the CNC world. I bought a CRP Pro4848 and have it up and running to the point that I am ready to machine my spoil board. I have downloaded the CRP V-Carve file for the 4848 spoil board. That seems easy enough. Now the newbie question(s): How do I "tell" the CNC where to start cutting for the mounting holes? Since these mounting holes are through holes, I don't want to inadvertently mill into one of my cross members. Do you basically jog x y and z to where you want "zero" to be? I also have CRP touch plate which looks like it has the corner finding side, but not sure how to use it correctly. Also, my 4848 is actually 52.25" x 63", so no need for the spoil board to extend all the way to the outer edges? My PC is communicating through Mach 3 with the CNC and I have completed the square check and the tramming check. I did find out that the black collet on the spindle, although magnetic, does not conduct a sufficient signal for the zero touch plate the sense it. Good thing the ES button was close.

Thanks for any and all inputs!

Stan

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: CRP Pro4848 Spoil Board and V-Carve Questions, maybe even Mach 3 too!

Inside of V-Carve, the file for Spoilboard that downloaded, has its XYZ zero/starting points at the bottom left corner. In order to make your Spoilboard, you need another piece of MDF below, to act as a Spoilboard FOR the Spoilboard you want to make. That way you don’t route into any support beams.