Okuma v Makino

Thread: Okuma v Makino

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Okuma v Makino

Hi All

We are looking to purchase a new machining center.
    At present we are looking at the Okuma Genos M560v and the Makino PS105
    Both would be fitted with a 4th axis.
    Initially for an Aluminium project but we do machine all materials.
    We are looking for speed and rigidity.
    I would like some feed back either machines please
    Thanks in advance
    JBO

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Okuma v Makino

hy jbo, i have no experience with makino, but only with okuma ... i will share a few things about okumas :
    1) there is windows on the controller, and this allows installing many applications, so to speed up a few things :
    1.1) fast file transfer & edit, file back-ups, syncronizing, etc ( just use a wifi-usb, or an internet cable, and configure the conection like you would do with any other pc )
    1.2) msOffice applications can be installed, and this allows:
    1.2.1) running xls macros from xls files that are installed inside the machine ( so you dont need to go to another computer, re-create the code, and then come back with it at the machine )
    1.2.2.) running xls setup sheets, that may include all infos about a setup, like a drawing, fixtures, tools, axis zeros, everything required to run the program
    1.2.3) xls codes, interfaced with okuma's api, so to really go next-level with custom programing ( like custom probing macros, that can not be replicated easy on other cncs, and may require expensive software for alternative programing; thus, you may boost the way your probe behaves )
    1.3) pdf viewer ( so you can transfer drawings directly to the machine, and the operator may create the program from it, without needing to print the paper )