Need help - Lathe Build, trying to understand requirements/limitations

Thread: Need help - Lathe Build, trying to understand requirements/limitations

Default Need help - Lathe Build, trying to understand requirements/limitations

Hi Everyone,

I'm pretty new to CNC so I do apologize for the newbie questions! I just want to ensure I'm accounting for everything I need and not missing a key piece of hardware or barking up the wrong tree.

Some background on me first - I make custom fountain pens, generally out of wood, resin, and metal accents - sometimes delrin or ebonite as well. I may or may not start making metal pens, but if I did it would likely be brass/aluminum. I started last year, but my small business has taken off and I'd like to automate / open up some of the possibilities of what i can do. A lot of my tedious work involves drilling, threading (int + ext), rounded square blanks, and shaping my pens once they are done - I have a number of pens in different sizes which all have different curves/profiles. I'll also be making accent rings out of round stock.

My original plan was to buy a 10x22 metal lathe and outfit it with a DRO - my current process is that I do everything by hand on a wood lathe, and it gets quite tedious. Not only sizing tenons, threading, etc, but getting my pens down to the size for the model I'm making is a pain in the butt, and then i have to go to town with a file, and then sand the crap out of it to get rid of the file marks. Being able to dial in the diameter and kick on the auto-feed would be great, but we all know that full CNC control is the bees knees and if the DRO is gonna cost half of the CNC cost, I might as well go all the way!! My backup plan is a template system for profiling, but i sense that it's only marginally more work to do a CNC retrofit.