Critique my CNC Column Mini Mill

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Critique my CNC Column Mini Mill

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Critique my CNC Column Mini Mill

Hi everybody,

I'm in the process of planning my first milling machine. I have previously built 3D printers, so I know the electronics, but I'm new to the heavy machinery. I only own hand tooling, so I've designed the mill to not need any special tooling, this is also the main reason why I didn't go for a steel construction. The overall budget is about 2000 euros.

The work envelope is about X=500mm, Y=200mm, Z=300mm. The intended use case is various hobby projects, in particular aluminium, brass and (slow) cuts in steel.

All ball screws are 1204 pitch screws, the rails are HGR20 with HGH20CA carriages.

The profiles are 90x180mm 10mm-slot Bosch-Rexroth type aluminium extrusions. The bed is 16mm and the rest of the plates are 12mm (all AW-5083 precision cast aluminium).

I have a chinese 2.2kW spindle in the CAD, but I'd ideally want something with lower RPM range (say 1000 - 10k rpm), so I that can run non-balanced tools like boring bars and fly cutters.

Is there anything obvious which I have missed from a rigidity point of view? Anything else I should be aware of?

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Critique my CNC Column Mini Mill-screenshot-2022-02-01-19-23-28-a  

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Critique my CNC Column Mini Mill

How are you attaching the column to the base? That's a critical joint there, and those aluminum extrusions don't give you a really good way to do it. I'd suggest a thick piece of angle iron on the outside corner to beef tt up, connected firmly to both sides.

[FONT=Verdana]Andrew Werby[/FONT]
    [URL="http://www.computersculpture.com/"]Website[/URL]

Downloads
    Uploads

Hi,
    aluminum extrusions are not adequate, they flex too much, and at the right angle junction, its really going to let you down.