CNC router Rye retroffitting for aluminium milling

Thread: CNC router Rye retroffitting for aluminium milling

Downloads
    Uploads

Default CNC router Rye retroffitting for aluminium milling

Hello All,

I'm a new member of this forum and let me say that this forum is massive! I'm not even sure I posted in the right section!

Background: I'm a mechanical engineer, I know how to use CAD, 3D printing code and I can easily handle mechanics problem, but not that well electronic one.

I just bought a 1990 Rye CNC router, I was looking for a good solid base rather then spend 600£ on a Chinese flexible frame.
    I got myself a 800kg gift, with some pretty good chassis (at least in my opinion.)

Machine spec:
    - x axis: linear slide rail with (I think) SBR25 bearing, Ball screw and SEM ltd motors (MT22R2-24 perm magnetic DC servomotor), belt driven
    - y axis: linear slide rail with (I think) SBR25 bearing, Ball screw and SEM ltd motors (MT22R2-24 perm magnetic DC servomotor), belt driven
    - z axis: pneumatic actuated (no controller connected to it at the moment, the pipes are open)ò not sure how is called the rail system, it's like trapezoidal

The table is in Bakelite and has a suction system and the pump is there
    The spindle is a Perske 2.2 kW, 17000rpm, and I have only a collar (6mm)

Controller: this is the critical bit for me. It has a NEE AMC, the manual are there (1996). It's not connected to the rest of the machine but his should be a problem.
    There are a lot of other board that I haven't even looked at.

Now, here is the topic:
    I'm thinking that would be easier to get rid of all the electronics, motors, pneumatic z axis and all cable and put a new 3axis NEMA34 kit.

The reason for me is that:
    1) I'll have something easier to manage from a SW point of view
    2) I think will be complex to manage all this old style electronics
    3) I have no idea how to actuate the pneumatic Z axis, and replacing it with a stepper motor would be easier