jerk and noisy travel on Y axis after a smooth start

Thread: jerk and noisy travel on Y axis after a smooth start

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default jerk and noisy travel on Y axis after a smooth start

Good day to the list. I have recently acquired a lightly used 6040Z CNC router which appears to be in excellent condition. I am basically a newbie at this but not at some basic metal machining. While exercising the machine and getting to know it I have found that on the Y axis and only the Y axis that after an indefinite but not long travel after starting that the Y axis stops with a jerk, pauses for what is not likely even a second and then continues to travel but now there is what sounds like a grinding noise. This occurs both in the + and - directions. There doesn't seem to be a set distance of initial smooth travel before this occurs but it is not more than an inch or so. I have moved the machine head to various positions along its possible travel and tested for this jerk and grind and it seems to happen wherever along the full 60 cm full travel. Once it does the jerk thing and the noise starts, it doesn't jerk stop and start again but the "grinding" sound continues until the travel is stopped.

This machine is only a year or so old, is being driven by a laptop running Windows 7.1 pro, usb connection, SXCNC controller.

The software has all axes set to 320 steps. I tried 400 steps for the Y axis and this did not help.

The machine is clean and has done only one or two projects prior to my acquiring it.

When I get home tonight I am going to carefully clean the ways of the Y axis, lightly lubricate and see if this helps.

I would appreciate any thoughts toward identifying and then solving the issue(s).

Regards

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: jerk and noisy travel on Y axis after a smooth start

Hi

you can contact me to work together to fix your problem.
    It could be from settings or electronic