Need Help! Newbie - machining wood with 300W 3020 mill

Thread: Newbie - machining wood with 300W 3020 mill

Downloads
    Uploads

Question Newbie - machining wood with 300W 3020 mill

Hi all
    I am considering buying a small (3020, 300W) mill to try to make custom clog-style shoes (like Scholl or Birkenstock).
    I have no experience with mills (and not much with woodworking either!), but have dabbled in 3D printing.

Before I waste money on a mill that may not do the job, I thought I would simply ask here about feasibility.

My needs would be:

* Wooden stock (not sure what species yet)
    * Accuracy not particularly high ~0.2 mm would suffice.
    * I would want to remove up to say 20mm of material, average probably ~10mm over the whole area of a shoe blank.
    * I would want to do double sided machining to cut the curve of the base.
    * Final cutout and finishing I plan to do with band saw & belt sander/hand sanding.
    * I would want to complete the machining for one side in no more than say 1 hour.

Is such a plan feasible with a 300W machine? Are there any obvious problems or gotchas here?

Thanks in advance.

Paul

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Newbie - machining wood with 300W 3020 mill

Is a 300x200 machine large enough to accomodate an adult shoe (plus the clamps/fixtures)?
    The "300W spindle" (which is really just a brushed DC motor) will be your weakest link. Throw in a real spindle, even a small Chinese one, then what you are talking about should be feasible.

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Newbie - machining wood with 300W 3020 mill

Quote Originally Posted by CitizenOfDreams View Post
    Is a 300x200 machine large enough to accomodate an adult shoe (plus the clamps/fixtures)?
    The "300W spindle" (which is really just a brushed DC motor) will be your weakest link. Throw in a real spindle, even a small Chinese one, then what you are talking about should be feasible.