Newbie Ebay Chinese 6040 CNC Router Review

Thread: Ebay Chinese 6040 CNC Router Review

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Ebay Chinese 6040 CNC Router Review

About two months ago I decided to purchase one of the 6040 4 axis CNC Chinese routers off of Ebay, it is tan in color and has not manufacture or identifying trade marks on it. I did this mostly for the project aspect of it as well as for wanting to use it for a couple of projects. Overall the machine is fairly well built and solid. If I had to pick the weakest point of the machine I would have to say the aluminum slats for the table flex a little but not to a point of where it is really an issue. I have purchased a few extras that I have to install and those are home limit switches, a different motion controller along with Mach 4 software, it came with a "cracked" version of Mach 3. I have experience in programming/operating SMT pick and place machines and I have no experience with a CNC routers but the two types of machines software and functionality are similar enough in theory that the CNC is for the most part basically the same. There are little to no formal instructions with the CNC but the vendor or importer did answer and resolve any questions/issues I had, which were mostly software driver issues. Once I got the PC to communicate via the USB port with the controller and watched a few short videos on the Mach 3 software I ran a few tests and everything worked as expected. I have no complaints with accuracy or repeatability, which was the first thing I tested and as I stated I found no issues with either.