Charter Oak mill x-axis backlash help

Thread: Charter Oak mill x-axis backlash help

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Charter Oak mill x-axis backlash help

Hello,

I have had an old IH manual mill since 2007 and regretted never getting the CNC kit which led me to purchasing a used Charter Oak made around 2014 that seemed all ready to go. Once I got it set up and had a chance to test it it turns out the x axis was out at least .004 or more on a 2" pocket which I did a finish pass on. I found that I could turn the screw and it took a bit for the saddle to engage and move. Based on what I have read here it is either the preload got dropped on that screw or maybe there is a worn out ball nut. I believe this mill has only seen around 50 hours of actual machine time so I am guessing it is the preload. I do think the gibs could have been too tight, but not sure.

My challenge is how do I best access the nuts to actually check? I am a novice at this so not sure if I am going about it the right way. I removed the servo, the encoder (was harder to get off the shaft that I thought it would be), and now I think I need to remove the pulley which seems tightly pressed on. Before putting more effort into that I wanted to check here for any help. Attached are some pics that might help.

Here is a video of the slop in turning the pulley before it meets resistance. The screw is turning and tight in tandem with the pulley, but the saddle doesn't move until the slack is taken up. Also, I have tried this with the gib removed with no difference. https://youtube.com/shorts/_h0jAzcZsVM?feature=share

Any thoughts?

Thanks,
    Matt

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Charter Oak mill x-axis backlash help-pxl_20230327_161629258-jpg   Charter Oak mill x-axis backlash help-pxl_20230327_171314440-jpg  

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Charter Oak mill x-axis backlash help