HELP! 5 Axis with clearpaths, acorn and C86ACCP?

Thread: HELP! 5 Axis with clearpaths, acorn and C86ACCP?

Default HELP! 5 Axis with clearpaths, acorn and C86ACCP?

Hi there!

I'm completely new to CNC machining and will be building my first CNC router using the Centroid Acorn, Clearpaths and some THK/HIWIN linear actuators on a 300kg precision granite slab.

I have a question regarding how many Axis's I can use. It seems like Acorn only allows 4 axis, but I can see on the C86ACCP board has ports for 5.

Okay, so I hear you saying to yourself "why would you need 5 axis for a router?"

Please refer to the picture I have provided of a rough design for my router and you will see why I require 5 axis.
    https://ibb.co/tpL9nBd

As you can see - I need 1 motor for X, 2 motors for Y and 2 for Z.

I know I can redesign the gantry so I would only need 4 axis, but I don't think the Z axis would be rigid enough with just one linear actuator for the Z axis and on top of that, I would lose about 100mm of Y travel.

So my question is - can I slave the 2 Y axis and the 2 Z axis?

Please, please advise.

Thank you,
    Boris Touchstone

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails HELP! 5 Axis with clearpaths, acorn and C86ACCP?-screenshot-2022-10-31-121836-jpg  

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: HELP! 5 Axis with clearpaths, acorn and C86ACCP?