Build Thread Aluminum sand casting a Bigsby style tremelo

Thread: Aluminum sand casting a Bigsby style tremelo

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Aluminum sand casting a Bigsby style tremelo

Hi guys, wow big forum listing, man oh man.

Ok so I am a custom guitar builder in Canada, Ontario more specifically and I will be doing my own tailpieces and potentially tremelo for a new model.
    Ive just begun to aquire the parts needed to build my furnace and Reil burner. I have a line on bentonite from a well driller local to me so I can make my green sand. I'll be searching out old cast aluminum parts for the pore.

The tremelo will be based on a typical Bigsby which are also cast units.
    I'll be asking questions.

Bill

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Aluminum sand casting a Bigsby style tremelo-cb100-jpg   Aluminum sand casting a Bigsby style tremelo-redjazz3-jpg   Aluminum sand casting a Bigsby style tremelo-b7close2-jpg  

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Investment casting would be a better option.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

I'm in luck I can get Petrobond casting sand from Smelko out of Milton, I only live an hr away.

Downloads
    Uploads

If you can get premixed Petrobond, there's no need to mess around with bentonite; Petrobond is the gold standard of casting sand.

A blower burner is more efficient than the Reil burner, which depends on passive aspiration of air. With a blower burner your metal will melt quicker, and be less subject to oxidation. You can use an old vacuum cleaner blower to make one, or any pressure blower (but not a squirrel-cage).