Bridgeport BOSS Series 1 Rigid conversion

Thread: Bridgeport BOSS Series 1 Rigid conversion

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Bridgeport BOSS Series 1 Rigid conversion

I'm a hobbyist with a Boss Series 1 stepper machine that I've converted to servo/VFD. It's a Series 1 Rigid Ram 16" x 42" with the QC#30 spindle. Once upon a time the machine lived in a college machine shop but saw very little use due to problems with the Textron system. As a result it sat for a <long> time not running but is in spectacular condition given its age.
    I ran my first project on the machine this weekend and noticed the quill got warm - the laser measured max 110* on a 98* day running 3K RPM for about ~60 minutes total on and off. It seems reasonable to expect the spindle bearing grease is dry and caked up. The spindle makes no funny noises and the machine runs quietly. No clunking or chatter. It could probably use a new VariDrive belt as this one has a bit of a lump from sitting. Turns easily by hand.
    I haven't gotten the way oiling system added in yet - that is my next stop on the build - but the way oiler doesn't lubricate the spindle from what I have read. I manually lubricated everything for the one job I've run.

Assuming the bearings are still in good shape (and I suspect that they are...), should I be dropping the spindle to re-grease them before continuing? What is my most reasonable course of action?

Thanks!
    -Todd

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Bridgeport BOSS Series 1 Rigid conversion

A 12°F rise in temperature @ 3K RPM is nothing to worry about. Well within the normal operating range, in fact I would expect more rise. Your bearing grease is fine.

Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by Jim Dawson View Post
    A 12°F rise in temperature @ 3K RPM is nothing to worry about. Well within the normal operating range, in fact I would expect more rise. Your bearing grease is fine.