BP Series 1 Boss 5 Problems (Z Axis)

Thread: BP Series 1 Boss 5 Problems (Z Axis)

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default BP Series 1 Boss 5 Problems (Z Axis)

Hi everyone i'm new to the zone and hope i'm not about to ask a question you have already answered but here it goes. I just bought a BP Series 1 Boss 5 cnc machine off ebay (mistake) the price was good ($1625) so i took a shot. The man i bought it from said everything works great but when i got it home and powered it up i got some problems. First the Z axis works fine when you step it in .001,.010,.100 but when you try to use 1.0 or jog it stops moving and the motor just whines kind of like a bad starter motor on a car. I have read alot of the threads and everyone with a Z axis problems is told it's a transformer is this the case? The other problem is that the DRO doesn't switch over whan you flip the X,Y,Z switch. It always stays on the X but it does give you readout of the X. The switch does work to the point that it changes the axis you control it just doen't let you use the DRO for the Y,Z axis which without being able to get the position of the Y&Z this machine is almost useless. PLEASE help..

Similar Threads:
    Last edited by Bayliner; 05-07-2007 at 12:58 AM.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Hi

Your Z axis definitely sounds like a transistor, this is a easy fix, if you do a search on here for 2N6547 you'll find lot's of info on how to replace them.

For the DRO this sounds normal, when you flick the switch from one axis to another the DRO doesn't change, you have to change it by pushing the appropriate button on the key pad, I can't remember which buttons they are but if you look above the buttons (not the letters/numbers on the buttons) there should be a X,Y & Z if they haven't been rubbed off.

Hope this helps

Chris

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads