My CNC Bender Build

Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: My CNC Bender Build

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default My CNC Bender Build

I started working on a tube bender as my senior project. I am a senior at Indiana University Purdue University – Indianapolis. I am studying MET. My goal was, and still is, to build a tube bender and to make it CNC controlled via a Windows PC. My goal with this post is not to high light the making of the tube bender. It isn’t difficult to buy a JD2 bender and add hydraulic power; we’ve all seen it done hundreds of times. Instead, I will focus on the design and implement of CNC control.

I know a CNC tube bender isn’t practical for most, hell, it’s not even practical for me. This is more of an exercise to go beyond the norm, exposing myself to areas I normally wouldn’t have ventured.

I can't figure out why the forum is programmed to not allow the original creator of the post to not edit his post after a certain amount of time.
    Here is how my system works: I have a Grainger pump, relief valve, and Dayton motor. This connects to a Vickers directional control valve. The valve arrangement is a spring center, 3 way tandem form. What this means is when I release the foot pedal, incoming fluid from the pressure line is automatically dumped back to the reservoir. Ports “A” and “B” are locked. The fluid then flows through hydraulic hose into a Parker 2.5”x24” cylinder. I am proud to say that all mechanical components of my bender are made in the USA.

I am currently in the beginning of the CNC implementation. I purchased a breakout board and a relay board. The breakout board serves two purposes: it allows me to interface the valve and rotary encoder to a parallel port cable. It also serves to optoisolate the I/O devices (valve, limit switches, stepper motors, etc) with the computer. If a surge occurs, $1 chips on the breakout board will get destroyed, not my motherboard.