New Machine Build Current ballpark cost build vs buy~

Thread: Current ballpark cost build vs buy~

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Current ballpark cost build vs buy~

My background is being a toolmaker that programmed and used various CNC Bridgeports and Hitachi Seiki VG45 mills and lathes.

I have the urge to buy or build a benchtop CNC mill for small parts , engraving and I miss G code programming.
    Just starting to read the many forum posts and curious what's a well equipped and built table top machine cost Vs buying a decent one ?

I love the table top Tormach but man , its priced like a lot bigger machine.
    Buying an XY table , ball screws and motors adds up fast.

My ballpark working volume would be X / 10" travel , Y / 6" and open on Z.

Opinions please~

Jeff in Ohio

Similar Threads:

Default Re: Current ballpark cost build vs buy~

A G0704 or PM25 would do that volume.

You are going to spend like $2000 plus the cost of the mill for a basic conversion. I'm sure you can do it for less, but realistically if it is done right I think $2k is about right. It will be a grand for the ballscrew conversion kit plus the cost of the control and various other bits. If you want to get a bit more thorough, for example some sort of enclosure, coolant, spindle motor, power drawbar, etc., you will spend more.

Downloads
    Uploads

Enclosed machines are great for production and using coolant.
    It also works against you when you have a long part than does not fit inside the enclosure.

I have several Bren guns I am restoring and want the capability to engrave them correctly without having electro etch stencils made and using.

Downloads
    Uploads

The Intelitek BenchMill 6000 / Tormach 440 is close to what I would like to have or build~

Downloads
    Uploads

Jeff,

This may not be a reasonable comparison as I sort of went nuts on my project, but when it was all said and done, it was 11K.