Newbie Using Milling Table For Z Axis?

Thread: Using Milling Table For Z Axis?

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Using Milling Table For Z Axis?

I am a newbie to all of this but have been debating different build options for a small milling machine. One of the ideas I've been considering is using a milling/cross slide table for the z axis. There are a couple different options available. One would be a tilting table. This would allow me to tilt the head at different angles. The other option would be a basic cross slide. This would give me up and down movement as well as left and right. My thought process is that these tables can be found for relatively cheap and appear to be pretty stout and sturdy. I would like mount the T table to the column and then fabricate a way to mount the spindle to the base. Any thoughts or suggestions? I'm not worried about extreme accuracy. Budget is a big driving factor. Here are some links to a couple of the options I'm looking at.

https://www.vevor.com/products/compound-milling-machine-work-table-2-axis-cross-slide-bench-drill-vise-fixture?_pos=8&_sid=fe70c69a3&_ss=r

https://www.vevor.com/products/tilting-table-5-x-7inch-for-milling-machines-swivel-angle-plate-adjustable-plate?_pos=7&_sid=fe70c69a3&_ss=r

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Using Milling Table For Z Axis?

You may want to lay out your needs for a Z axis.
    How high is the lowest stationary part of the axis above the table. IE how tall of a workpiece do you need under the axis.
    How far should the cutter extend below the lowest point from above.
    Use those two figures to calculate the Z axis stroke and clearance.
    X axis range is simply the range of that slide.

To add clearance you’ll have to hang the spindle far below the slide which makes it less rigid.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Using Milling Table For Z Axis?