The cutest face mill ever (ISO10 spindle and tool prototyping)

Thread: The cutest face mill ever (ISO10 spindle and tool prototyping)

Downloads
    Uploads

Default The cutest face mill ever (ISO10 spindle and tool prototyping)

Well, I've been up to silly things lately. I designed a tiny ATC spindle for my xzero mini raptor (which itself has been heavily revamped). As the title implies, the spindle is ISO10. You don't realise how small ISO10 is on a computer screen, but when you hold a 22mm 3d printed face mill with 3 CCMT 0602 inserts in your hand, you suddenly go "oh".

Now it's time to make a real one.

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails The cutest face mill ever (ISO10 spindle and tool prototyping)-iso10_face_mill_2-jpg  

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: The cutest face mill ever (ISO10 spindle and tool prototyping)

it's so cute! and that print looks great too!

random thought,and realize i'm no expert...but wouldn't you want the inserts angled (not the rake angle) out the opposite direction to take advantage of axial chip thinning and reduce radial loading?

Downloads
    Uploads

they are angled 30 degrees for chip thinning... not sure what you mean. going the opposite way would make them a dovetail.
    rake is neutral as the inserts have their own positive rake. the tool uses the "unused" edges of the inserts after they get used in lathe tooling.

Downloads
    Uploads

You'll have to forgive my quickly put together sketch here, but this is what I was thinking. I guess i was under the impression that the machine it's going in wasn't very rigid since it's an iso10 holder and wouldn't be taking very large depth of cuts. Maybe i shouldn't assume things like that. haha

but orienting it this way gives you that option and gives you a square shoulder to work with. Just a thought, but either way, it looks great and is a great reuse of otherwise worthless inserts!