New Machine Build Retrofit old CNC to Mach3 (Prolight 2000)

Thread: Retrofit old CNC to Mach3 (Prolight 2000)

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Retrofit old CNC to Mach3 (Prolight 2000)

Hello All,

I would like to shear my experience in retrofitting my Prolight 2000 CNC to Mach3 so people who are interested can find one comprehensive post that includes most of the steps needed to start the process. This could be a good start for beginners like myself since I went through several difficulties to find solutions to some major and/or minor obstacles during the process and I was unable to find easy solutions to be done to fix the issue.
    FYI - This conversion may be done to many similar machines
    First and foremost, I am new to this industry and never touched a CNC machine before I’d done mine. And so, I wouldn’t consider myself responsible to any damage or injury that might happen.

I would start with the list of parts that can be re-used and the new parts that need to be purchased,

Parts to be re-used (to be remained from the original machine)

1. All DC servo motors.

2. Spindle

3. Spindle speed controller, mine has (0-10 volt) terminals that can be connected to a breakout board.

4. Main transformer (see picture for more details.)

5. Off course old cable and connectors

Parts to be purchased

1. Breakout board (I used C11 BOB). You can use C10 BOB, it should be a lot cheaper.

2. DC servo drivers (I used GECKODRIVE G320X)

3. Power supply board for servo motors based on the requirement of your servo motor in terms of voltage and current. (I used PMDX-137-5020 based on the formula: DC output voltage = [(AC input voltage)*1.414]-1.5volts). I needed 39VDC and that’s why I chose the board described above.

4. Encoders, I used AMT102-V rotary encoder

5. Two 2A – 5VDC power supply units (PSUs) you can use any tablet charger.

6. One 750mA – 12VDC PSU (see attached picture for more details) the one I used was for Netgear modem.