alternatives to a DRO Sherline Mill (looking for robustness)

Thread: alternatives to a DRO Sherline Mill (looking for robustness)

Downloads
    Uploads

Question alternatives to a DRO Sherline Mill (looking for robustness)

Hi all,

I have been using a Sherline DRO mill for about 4 years now, and I am ready for a change. Looking to the spend about the same as I did for a full-package Sherline (~2-3K), but something more robust (all-steel) and easy to fix. May I ask for suggestions? I mostly mill Alu and plastics, but I do an occasional run with mild steel, Ti, and Invar. I use 1-6 mm mills, anything bigger is a struggle, so I do not go above 6 mm. I sometimes, I attach a high-RPM spindle, and mill soda lime and borosilicate glass slides. I tend to be quite abusive to my tools, and I feel like I now spend more time fixing the Sherline than milling. I am generally fine with the low power and the XYZ range (I tend to work alone and in a hurry, and I would have been dead/injured by now if I had >500 W available). Thinking to get direct linear encoders, rather than indirect rotary ones like my Sherline has: I have had situations when the stage would get stuck, but the encoder would show travel.

Thank you in advance!

Similar Threads:
    Last edited by runcyclexcski; 10-28-2018 at 09:30 PM. Reason: more detail, less ramble

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: alternatives to a DRO Sherline Mill (looking for robustness)

Look at the precision mathews mills. I only ever touched a sherline once and it was a toy. The PM series are better than the grizzly by a lot, and for a home user, they're acceptable. You will probably find the speed is a problem, but since it's a belt drive, installing some new pulleys and modifying the motor mount shouldn't be that hard.

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by hackish View Post