Build Thread A Beginners PM-25MV Build

Thread: A Beginners PM-25MV Build

Downloads
    Uploads

Default A Beginners PM-25MV Build

Well let's dive right in shall we . My name is Daniel and I am a complete beginner not only to milling machines but to cnc mills as well. I do have some hands on experience with 3d printers and cnc routers both from a design / build and use perspective. I am hoping that experience can be put to good use on the pm25 build. It is my goal with this build thread that not only can I share my journey building my first cnc mill but also learn and absorb from those who have come before me. ( I should have started this thread awhile back, it would have saved me some spending/purchase mistakes I am sure. ).

The major details for my build are as follows.

-Mechanical-
    PM-25MV Milling Machine
    PM Stand with aftermarket leveling feet ( I am hoping to have time to build a steel frame/bench this summer )
    David's CNC Ball Screw Conversion Kit ( ArizonaVideo99 )

-Motion-
    Nema 34 906oz KL34H295-43-8A (Z-axis)
    Nema 23 570oz KL23H2100-50-4B (X,Y-axis)

-Electrical-
    UC300ETH ( I have not decided on Mach3 or uccnc yet, I would need a newer pc for uccnc due to the opengl requirements.)
    UB1 Breakout Board
    Gecko G203V Drivers ( Z,X,Y )
    Antek 800W 48V Toroidal Power Supply ( Stepper Drivers )
    Mean Well EDR-120-24 Power Supply ( To power UB1 Board )
    120V Fans x2 ( Intake and Exhaust )
    Misc. Contacts / relays and buttons for the cabinet safety circuit e-stop ect.

I am sure I am glossing over a few things, If you would like extra details on anything just ask!
    Not sure how many images we can post to a single post, but this first batch will be "catch up" I mostly post progress on Instagram ( under the same username ) so let's back track a little bit.