To Tormach or Not ???

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: To Tormach or Not ???

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default To Tormach or Not ???

Hi guys,

After converting my first mill, a small Jet round column, I am looking for a nice square column. I am very happy with the conversion I have done and it cuts pretty good for what it is. Sample of my first parts: http://k-frames.blogspot.com/

My first thought was a RF45 or a IH manual mill with the larger work envelope and then convert it myself. But the more I think about it I am not sure if I want to build again. I think I would rather just start making parts but I am torn.

$8500 + 450 shipping is a good chunk of change and that is for the machine only, no stand. I am also concerned about the stepper motors instead of servo's. Unfortunately I have no experience with steppers as I used the DMM Ac servo's on my build. I like the fact that it is belt drive and it looks like I could rig up my own power draw bar ALA Hoss Machine plans for this instead of pay the 1280 + shipping for that option.

I am really torn on this and would love to hear your thoughts.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

I have heard few, if any, complaints about the Tormach machines. I hope to be buying a second machine in a few months, and a Tormach 1100 is top of my list (I was set on a Mikini, as they are located very close to me, and it's totally enclosed, but they seem to be having a lot of spindle controller problems - not good!).

There is absolutely nothing wrong with steppers on a machine this size - they will give you just as good a result as servos, unless you really like to brag about rapid speeds. And, Tormach has just switched from two-phase to three-phase steppers, which has given them both better accuracy, and increased speed.

If your intent is to actually DO work, rather than working on the machine itself, buy a Tormach. I don't think you'll regret it.

Regards,
    Ray L.

Downloads
    Uploads