Newbie My X2 Mill Machine Planning and Build

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My X2 Mill Machine Planning and Build

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default My X2 Mill Machine Planning and Build

Hey all.

I have had an itch that needs scratching for several years. I need a CNC Mill. Now that i am out of the Army and have a "real" job where I can actually have my own shop at home, I think its time to make my dream a reality. I make 1:1 aircraft cockpits and am a hobbyist gunsmith.

My day job is as a draftsman/CAD Administrator with one of the big defense contractors in the aerospace industry, so I know CAD cold, however since we outsource almost all our designs for fab, I know almost nothing about milling.

I keep seeing good things about the Sieg X2, and its ability to convert it to a good solid CNC mill for a fraction of the price of purpose built CNC mills. I do plan on purchasing mine from Harbor Freight on the next major holiday when they do a 25% off.

For the actual CNC conversion, I am weighing which CNC Fusion kits to use, and am completely unfamiliar with what motor control hardware and motors to purchase.

One of my big issues, is I would like to be able to maintain a manual control of the machine in addition to CNC for times when I just want to do a small part without drawing up a CAD model, CAMing it, programming it to Mach 3, etc.

I also would like to eventually add an 4th axis on it for small projects such as making handguards for carbines, and such.

I guess my big question is, "Where do I start?"

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

There is a lot of info on this site that can help you. But there is so much info that it can be overwhelming.