Where to get T-slot clamps?

Thread: Where to get T-slot clamps?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Where to get T-slot clamps?

Hello all -

I'm pretty new to the whole bench top CNC thing, but I recently got my Spectralight mill (basically a Taig in a box, from what I understand) running and I need some clamps to hold a larger workpiece.

I've found that double sided carpet tape is great for holding wood or Renshape, but it doesn't stick to machinable wax worth a poo. The only clamp I have that came with the mill will only hold about a 3" wide work piece. I need something that I can lock down to the XY table and hold a 5"x5" piece for me.

I'm new to this, so the only places I really knew too look for such t-slot clamps were at Harbor Freight and hardware stores, both places I kinda got blank stares from the clerk. Don't have a problem ordering on line, but don't know where to start looking.

I suppose I should just fabricate my own clamps, but I'm thinking that cutting tool steel with this little CNC might be asking a lot from it.

Thanks in advance!

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Here are a few suggestions:

First; read up a bit on milling and general machining. It is not uncommon to make special purpose clamps, fixtures and tooling. This may or may not fullfill your needs.

Second; maybe it should have been first is catalogs. If you can get access to Travers, McMaster-Carr, MSC, Grand Tool Supply, Little Machine Shop and whom ever else you can dig up! Visit your local distributors and hope that they have a reasonable attitude. And finally go to the model engineering shows like NAMES, Cabin Fever and what ever is local.