NEWBIE needing input on buying a 5 year old PRO4848 V-CON system

Thread: NEWBIE needing input on buying a 5 year old PRO4848 V-CON system

Downloads
    Uploads

Question NEWBIE needing input on buying a 5 year old PRO4848 V-CON system

Full Disclosure:
    I am a complete NEWBIE in the CNC space & know enough to be a danger to myself!
    I'm comfortable & enjoy working with wood as woodworking runs in the family.
    I'm comfortable on a computer & feel confident that I will be able to learn CNC related software.
    1st post here.
    ...be gentle!
    ...do I need a safe-word?

Having said that, I've been looking at CNC routers off-&-on for the last 18 months. Sometimes feel that I have paralysis by analysis but believe that I'm ready to buy a machine. Would love to get to the point where I could make a living with the CNC machine and my other woodworking tools but initially looking to start with small projects like toys, signs, small furniture with wood primarily but also adding acrylic projects & a laser & drag-knife. Possibly hooking up with a cabinet maker to cut out cabinets when I'm not using it for my projects.

Based on research and especially because I'm a newbie the positive customer & user support that I hear, I'm looking at at a AvidCNC / CNC Router Parts machine. Specifically a PRO4848. Would love to buy new but hard to justify the price of a new machine right out of the gate.

I found a 5 year old PRO4848 on the second hand market that looks to be in pretty good condition and claims that use has been less than 200 hours.

Here's the specs:
    PRO4848 CNC Router Kit
    V-CON Linear Motion Rails System
    Nema 34 compatible
    Z-axis Travel / Gantry Height: 12"/12"
    Complete Cable Track Kit
    Z-axis Version: 12" Travel Ballscrew
    Steel Leg Kit
    4-Axis Digital Plug & Play Nema 34 System
    Cable Configuration: (2) 12' & (2) 20' cables
    Additional Axes: None [4-axis, Standard]
    Pepperl + Fuchs Proximity Limit Switch Kit