Newbie spindle and VFD

Thread: spindle and VFD

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default spindle and VFD

Hello. I have been searching for a simple answer and my search skills must need work.

I bought this spindle and VFD
    https://www.automationtechnologiesin...ooled-spindle/

I set it up and it seems to function correctly. It spools up to 24000 rpms just fine.

The VFD only allows 7amp as the max amp draw. Isn't that only 770 watts? I set mine to 5A because that is what I saw online. The vendor told me to set it to 11A, but the VFD won't allow that value.

I haven't cut anything yet because my CNC has a couple of other issues. I figured I would upgrade to a real spindle while the machine was down.

The spindle itself has no amperage rating stamped on it. I have seen other 110v 1.5Kw spindles online with 5A stamped on them. It does not seem right.

I am a hobbyist so there is probably a gap in my knowledge here.

Any help I can get would be appreciated.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: spindle and VFD

I'm pretty sure that VFD has a voltage doubler circuit in it, so outputs 220V 3 phase. 7 amps at 220V = about 1500 watts

Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Thank you for the response. Right now it is set for 5A max. I have one of those killawatt devices and it is measuring just shy of 5 amps draw when the spindle is spooling up. If the VFD is pulling 5 amps at 110V from the wall that is 550 Watts. How can it possibly output 1500 watts to the spindle?

What electrical property am I missing? Like I said, I am a hobbyist. I just want to understand what I am dealing with.

ericks

Sorry...for some reason my post from another topic ended up here

Downloads
    Uploads

What voltage is printed on the spindle?
    Is there a motor voltage setting in the VFD?

Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html[/URL]

Mach3 2010 Screenset