Need Help! Fusion slotting

Thread: Fusion slotting

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Fusion slotting

How do I remove the ramping in and out and just do a clear stepdown.?? I made my toolpath 6x as long as my hard coded program. I'm very new to fusion.

I am the only one with a machining background. So I hard code everything the owner bought me a Haas and said buy what ever you need. Almost everything is basic drilling and milling paths so I just hardcode it. I've made fixtures and all sorts of stuff so far with no cam software. But I would like to get into more advanced fixturing and such.

I just need to slap to 13/16 slots in .450 material 1.5 inches in and .075 step down. Full WOC. 13/16 endmill. Fusion took a 1:12 second toolpath and turned It into 6 minutes.

I currently work in a glass manufacturer where we do all aluminum extrusions.

I am able to draw in Inventor and AutoCAD.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Fusion slotting

I think you can uncheck ramping in the operation setup. On my Haas, I would use a smaller end mill, maybe 1/2 or 5/8 inch and do a adaptive clearing pass at full depth, 6000 RPM, 120 IPM, full DOC, about 0.035 step over, aluminum cutting carbide endmill.

Then a final profile clean up of about 0.005. 6000 RPM, 80 IPM, full DOC

To learn Fusion 360, I would recommend https://academy.titansofcnc.com/ a free online course that takes you from 0 to machining parts in a couple of days. Uses Fusion 360 and Haas machines.

Last edited by Jim Dawson; 09-28-2019 at 11:27 PM.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

Downloads
    Uploads

I'm not a fan of plunging straight in.
    In my program it's using the 'multiple depths' setting that slows it down a lot.
    I use 'ramping' but I increase the angle setting and that makes it quicker, still less aggressive than a straight stepdown.

Downloads
    Uploads