Setting Lathe Tool Position - Not Cutting in the center - Help.

Thread: Setting Lathe Tool Position - Not Cutting in the center - Help.

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Setting Lathe Tool Position - Not Cutting in the center - Help.

I have Mori SL1 that I just finished retrofitting. I've never used a professional cnc lathe before. I'm used to using a cnc lathe that I built with just a quick change chuck.

I've setup my first tool and it's cutting too low, not through the center, but the tool is already bottomed out in the tool holder. How do I adjust for this? Should I mill a little off the tool to get it lower in the holder?

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Setting Lathe Tool Position - Not Cutting in the center - Help.

There are a few reasons why the tool would be off center. Turret base alignment, turret rotation alignment, spindle alignment, or the wrong size tool/insert/seat.
    The first three are usually out of alignment due to crashes. Its fairly easy to check these by using a dial indicator. These should be checked in a certain order.
    First check the spindle alignment, do this by putting a 2-3" diameter x 8-10" long piece of aluminum in the chuck and taking a cut with a sharp insert along the Z-axis. The idea is to clean up the piece and measure for taper over about 8" or so. it should be around 0.0005" or less taper over 8" or so. This will confirm that the spindle axis is parallel to the Z-axis.
    Next check the turret base alignment. Do this by running an indicator over the turret face in the X-axis direction. It should be around 0.001" or less over the turret face. This ensures the turret is parallel to the X-axis.