Australia Cast Bench Top CNC Build

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cast Bench Top CNC Build

Default Cast Bench Top CNC Build

Kia ora,

Thought id share some concepts of a new build im currently doing. This is my first build so please feel free to steer me in the right direction if you see my going the wrong way.

As all the work i currently do is aluminium and plastic and the build volume is too big for a mini mill conversion.

Goals:

-Eat aluminium for breakfast.(Possibly Steel with light cuts)
    -Cast in SG iron
    -Working area of 700mm x 550mm x 160mm
    -Fully enclosed with flood coolant.
    -Easily replaceable fixture plate.
    -Base to be machined in 1 operation and gantry to be machined in 2 operations.
    -Cut out in bed to allow for larger parts.
    -Gecko Drive G540
    -UCCNC
    -Double nut ball screws with angular bearings and low backlash motor coupling
    -Hiwin linear guides.
    -4 pole 800hz spindle
    -Landrover engine mounts

Things i need some help with.

1. I was planning to put 25mm linear guides with double blocks on both X and Y axis with a 2005 ball screw. 20mm linear guide with 1605 ball screw for Z axis. I know that this is slightly over kill but is there a disadvantage to going overkill with these bearings? Assuming i can machine my tolerances high enough to mount them correctly.

2. What have people found to be the best homing switches? I was planning to use some inductive switches. As i plan to try mount some fixtures and possibly a 4th axis in future.

3. What have people found to be the most ridged Z axis arrangement? Ive noticed in lots of builds the spindle sicks out rather far.

Ive still got lots missing in the attached image. I am currently trying to concentrate on the base, gantry and Z axis.

Any help is very much appreciated.

Rohan

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Cast Bench Top CNC Build-bench-top-cnc-jpg  

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Cast Bench Top CNC Build